Skip to content

Frightful October Horror Movie Picks – DAY 31

October 31, 2013

Screen shot 2013-10-30 at 11.17.21 PM

“The Shining”

I really, REALLY wanted to choose something obscure or at least something unexpected as my Halloween pick, but damn this movie for being too fucking good! Last night I attended a one night screening of Stanley Kubrick’s marvelous horror/mystery cult film “The Shining” with a few buds. We had the time of our lives getting to see this movie on the big screen for the first time. And the experience is completely different than watching it on Bluray at home. The fact that you’re in a theater, with a bunch of fans, the sound is pure dolby digital 7.1 of awesome, the terrorizing images stand 50 (or so) ft high, is quite provocative.

Early this month I recommended the documentary “Room 237” and after watching that film, you certainly look at this movie in a new light. My friend Sean, sitting next to me in the theater, was geeking out as much as I was about the hidden gems that the doc brought up, and for that alone this makes the experience an even better watch. But for once, I’m seeing a movie I’ve seen countless times before, a horror film no less, and I was genuinely tense the whole time. I guess you can attribute that to the spine-tingling score by Wendy Carlos & Rachel Elkind, without a doubt ranks high in my all time favorite horror movie scores. You can call it however you want this Halloween, but for me “The Shining” is the ideal picture to watch when the witching hour of 10 o’clock tonight occurs, after all the lil kiddies tidy in bed after trick ‘r’ treating.

Directed by: Stanley Kubrick

Screenplay by: Stanley Kubrick & Diane Johnson

Starring: Jack Nicholson, Shelley Duvall, Danny Lloyd, Scatman Crothers, Barry Nelson, Joe Turkel, and Anne Jackson

“The Shining” is available on iTunes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

