Skip to content

Frightful October Horror Movie Picks – DAY 4

October 4, 2013

nosferatu-1979-klaus-kinski1

“Nosferatu The Vampyre” (1979)

Werner Herzog directs this brilliant, beautiful shot adaptation of the Bram Stoker vampiric creature in “Nosferatu The Vampyre”. In many regards, this is the recipe to a successful remake, it captures the essences of what F.W. Muranu did in 1922, but also manages to find new ground and depth in the visual stylings of Herzog. Herzog, mostly known for his extravagant documentaries, manages to capture this vampire tale from a steady vantage point, almost as if we the viewers are spying on the story that’s unfolding.

This is the movie I can honestly say that made me scared to go to sleep at nights when I was merely 4 or 5. I caught this on TV with my mom one of those Halloweens and that pretty much did it for me. Today, I can appreciate the vast darkness and eerie set up the movie gives, because one, I’m not 5, and two I have a greater understanding for film and all things classic horror. If it’s not scary enough for you (which I doubt), the one thing you can take away from is that it’s the most beautifully shot vampire film of its kind.

Written & Directed by: Werner Herzog

Starring: Klaus Kinski, Isabelle Adjani, Bruno Ganz, Roland Topor, and Walter Ladengast

Available for FREE on YouTube (in German, with English CC option)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

