Skip to content

My 85th Annual Oscar Predictions

February 24, 2013

Screen shot 2013-02-24 at 4.11.47 PM

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Who I want to win: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained” WHY? Waltz has this way of making Taratino’s words sound like vocal gold. How often do you hear someone say “ta-ta”?

Who’ll most likley win: Tommy Lee Jones, “Lincoln”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Who I want to win: Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables” WHY? You cannot deny the fact that she got to you when she sang ‘I Dream The Dream’. I know my throat lumped up during that scene, and that right there is Oscar winner material.

Who’ll most likley win: Anne Hathaway, “Les Misérables”

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Who I want to win: Quentin Tarantino, “Django Unchained”  WHY? His words are perfection, his characters perfection, and the stories always seem to try to top one another. I want Quentin to walk home with a second Oscar for his brilliant writing skills.

Who’ll most likley win: Quentin Tarantino, “Django Unchained”

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Who I want to win: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”  WHY? Russell adapted a brilliant novel into what is being considered one of the best acting ensamble pictures in the last decade. It only seems fitting that he should win this.

Who’ll most likley win: Chris Terrio, “Argo”

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE

Who I want to win: “ParaNorman”, dir. Sam Bell & Chris Butler WHY? It broke stereotypes and honors the classic B movie genre, it’s stop motion style is the best I’ve seen since “Coraline” (same production company). It’s my #1 favorite animated feature of 2012.

Who’ll most likley win: “Brave“, dir. Mark Andrews & Brenda Chapman

BEST FOREIGN FEATURE

Who I want to win: “Amour” (Austria) WHY? It’s the only foreign film I’ve seen nominated, and will more than likely be the winner.

Who’ll most likley win: “Amour” (Austria)

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT

Who I want to win:  “Death of a Shadow”, dir. Tom Van Avermaet & Ellen De Waele WHY? I didn’t see ANY of the Live Action shorts this year, but I read up on all of the nominees this week, and this one sound the most intriguing.

Who’ll most likley win: “Asad”, dir. Bryan Buckley & Mino Jarjoura

BEST ANIMATED SHORT

Who I want to win: “Paperman”, dir. John Kahrs  WHY? I did see all the animated short nominees, but this one still captured my heart when I saw it last fall attached to “Wreck-It Ralph”.

Who’ll most likley win: “Paperman”, dir. John Kahrs

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT

Who I want to win: “Redemption”, dir. Jon Alpert & Matthew O’Neill WHY? Like the live action narrative, I didn’t see the doc shorts this year.

Who’ll most likley win: “Redemption”, dir. Jon Alpert & Matthew O’Neill

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE

Who I want to win: “Searching for Sugarman”, dir.  Malik Bendjelloul & Simon Chinn WHY? I remember seeing this at Sundance last year, and I remember being amazed out of my mind!

Who’ll most likley win: “Searching for Sugarman”, dir.  Malik Bendjelloul & Simon Chinn

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

Who I want to win: Thomas Newman, “Skyfall” WHY? Newman out did everything David Arnold has done since “GoldenEye”.

Who’ll most likley win: “Life of Pi”, Mychael Danna

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

Who I want to win: ‘Skyfall’ by Adele & Paul Epworth from “Skyfall” WHY? This one seems like a lock, not to mention it’s one of the best written Bond songs in recent memory that really captures what Bond is all about. Besides, who doesn’t like Adele???

Who’ll most likley win: ‘Skyfall’ by Adele & Paul Epworth from “Skyfall”

BEST FILM EDITING

Who I want to win: “Argo”, William Goldenberg WHY? This is another one of those full proof locks. Look at the beginning of the movie, there’s your reason why this is a lock.

Who’ll most likley win: “Argo”, William Goldenberg

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Who I want to win: Roger Deakins, “Skyfall” WHY? I said in my review last year that the cinematography for this movie makes “Skyfall” the best looking Bond film in it’s entire 23 film canon, and I stay by that statement!

Who’ll most likley win: Claudio Miranda, “Life of Pi”

BEST SOUND EDITING 

Who I want to win: “Skyfall”, Per Hallberg & Karen M. Baker WHY? Because I want “Skyfall” to sweep everyone of it’s nominations, it really is one of the best Bond films ever.

Who’ll most likley win: “Life of Pi”, Eugene Gearty & Philip Stockton

BEST SOUND MIXING

Who I want to win: “Skyfall”“Skyfall”, Scott Millan, Greg P. Russell, & Stuart Wilson WHY? Because I want “Skyfall” to sweep everyone of it’s nominations, it really is one of the best Bond films ever.

Who’ll most likley win: “Les Misérables”, Andy Nelson, Mark Paterson, & Simon Hayes

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

Who I want to win: “The Avengers” Janek Sirrs, Jeff White, Guy Williams, & Daniel Sudick WHY? Because…it’s the fucking AVENGERS!!!!

Who’ll most likley win: “Life of Pi”, Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik De Boer, & Donald Elliott

BEST MAKE-UP EFFECTS

Who I want to win: “Hitchcock”, Howard Berger, Peter Montagna, & Martin Samuel WHY? All I saw was Hitchcock, NOT the man playing him.

Who’ll most likley win: “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”, Peter King, Rick Findlater, Tami Lane

BEST ART DIRECTION

Who I want to win: “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”, Dan Hennah, Ra Vincent, Simon Bright WHY? Middle-Earth, ‘nough said.

Who’ll most likley win: “Life of Pi”, David Gropman & Anna Pinnock

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

Who I want to win: “Anna Karenina”, Jacqueline Durran WHY? Period dramas usually take these, and this film had incredible looking costumes.

Who’ll most likley win: “Anna Karenina”, Jacqueline Durran

BEST ACTRESS

Who I want to win: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” WHY? This will be a close call, between her and Jessica Chastain, but I loved this performance, she was beyond brilliant, and she deserves this win.

Who’ll most likley win: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook”

BEST ACTOR

Who I want to win: Bradley Cooper, “Silver Linings Playbook” WHY? Cooper gave such an incredible nuance to the role of Pat, a bipolar Eagles fan who’s trying to rehabilitate his life.

Who’ll most likley win: Daniel-Day Lewis, “Lincoln”

BEST DIRECTOR 

Who I want to win: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook” WHY? Russell is a great director, and he’s the one nominated who deserves it the most. The ‘actors director’ is what everyones calling him, and it clearly shows, with the entire principal cast nominated.

Who’ll most likley win: Steven Spielberg, “Lincoln”

BEST PICTURE

Who I want to win: “Argo”, Ben Affleck, George Clooney, & Grant Heslov  WHY? The Academy has the gull to not award Affleck with a nomination for directing??? He at least deserves a Best Picture win for the movie he DID direct.

Who’ll most likley win: “Argo”, Ben Affleck, George Clooney, & Grant Heslov

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

