Skip to content

My 84th Annual Oscar Predictions

February 22, 2012

Ok, I’m gonna put aside my differences and play smart now with my predictions for the winners that will be officially announced come Oscar Sunday. These are my own oppinions, don’t have a cow.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Who I want to win: Christopher Plummer, “Beginners” WHY? Becasue I thought the movie was excellent in almost everyway, which is a shame why it’s been highly overlooked by the Academy. Still Plummer’s performances in the movie was one of the true shining stars of the film.

Who’ll most likley win: Christopher Plummer, “Beginners”

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Who I want to win: Melissa McCarthy, “Bridesmaids” – WHY? Because I liked her in that movie, she’s the only reason that movie was watchable to be perfectly honest. The Academy needs to shake it up, and what better than to give the Oscar to a comic performances.

Who’ll most likley win: Octavia Spencer, “The Help”

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Who I want to win“Midnight in Paris”, Woody Allen  – WHY? Woody’s a favorite in the Academy’s eyes, but I truly thought the writing in this movie was near pitch perfect, and some of the best writing of the year (next to “50/50”).

Who’ll most likley win“Midnight in Paris”, Woody Allen

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Who I want to win“Hugo”, John Logan – WHY? It’s something about a movie that tells a magical story about the movies that really grabs my attention.

Who’ll most likley win“The Descendants”, Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE

Who I want to win“Rango”, Gore Verbinski – WHY? It’s one of the smartest animated films in recent memory. “Rango” was daring, ugly at times, and laugh out loud hilarious thanks to Johnny Depp’s performances.

Who’ll most likley win“Rango”, Gore Verbinski

BEST FOREIGN FEATURE

Who I want to win“Monsieur Lazhar”, Philippe Falardeau – WHY? No real reason why, I just picked this because my French-Canadian friend Christine told me to. LOL

Who’ll most likley win“A Seperation”, Asghar Farhadi

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT

Who I want to win“Tuba Atlantic”, Hallvar Witzø – WHY? Because it was the best short film out of all that were nominated and I think it deserves the win! Read my review if you don’t believe me.

Who’ll most likley win: “The Shore”, Terry George

BEST ANIMATED SHORT

Who I want to win“La Luna”, Enrico Casarosa – WHY? I LOVE PIXAR, hence I feel it should win.

Who’ll most likley win“La Luna”, Enrico Casarosa

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT

Who I want to win: “The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom”, Lucy Walker – WHY? It’s a very topical subject, strong, powerful, and will leave people breathless, and it’s all around reviving cherry blossom trees after mother natures brutal attack on the people of Japan.

Who’ll most likley win“The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom”, Lucy Walker

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE

Who I want to win“Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory”, Joe Berlinger, Bruce Sinofsky – WHY? It’s the only doc I saw and I thought it was great, and I even met the director (Joe) at Sundance this year.

Who’ll most likley win: “If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front”, Marshall Curry, Sam Cullman

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

Who I want to win“The Adventures of Tintin” OR “War Horse”, John Williams – WHY? Because it’s JOHN FUCKIN’ WILLIAMS! That’s why!

Who’ll most likley win: “The Artist”, Ludovic Bource

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

Who I want to win: ‘Man or Muppet’, Bret McKenzie (“The Muppets”) – WHY? Only two songs nominated, both kids films, there’s no competition here, it’s between the beloved Muppets or the mediocre birds from “Rio”.

Who’ll most likley win: ‘Man or Muppet’, Bret McKenzie (“The Muppets”)

BEST FILM EDITING

Who I want to win: Thelma Schoonmaker, “Hugo”WHY? She’s a legend in the field of editing, and has been with Scorsese since the beginning. How the film flows from one scene to another is almost like magic.

Who’ll most likley win: Thelma Schoonmaker, “Hugo”

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Who I want to win: Emmanuel Lubezki, “The Tree of Life”WHY? Are you kidding me? The movie is an orgasm of beautiful/inventive imagery!

Who’ll most likley win: Guillaume Schiffman, “The Artist”

BEST SOUND EDITING 

Who I want to win: “Drive” – WHY? Because this was my #1 favorite movie of 2011 and it got snubbed in the major categories, so I’d like for it to at least take home this ONE AND ONLY NOMINATION the Academy felt it deserved.

Who’ll most likley win: “Transformers: Dark of the Moon”

BEST SOUND MIXING

Who I want to win: “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”WHY? The sound in this film was brilliant, sheer brilliance.

Who’ll most likley win“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

Who I want to win: “Rise of the Planet of the Apes”WHY? If you’ve seen the movie, then you already know why. Which is also why the Academy is pissing me off for not nominating Andy Serkis!

Who’ll most likley win“Rise of the Planet of the Apes”

BEST MAKE-UP EFFECTS

Who I want to win: “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”, Nick Dudman, Amanda Knight, Lisa Tomblin – WHY? Because I’d like to see a Potter film take home an Oscar.

Who’ll most likley win: “The Iron Lady”, Mark Coulier, J. Roy Helland

BEST ART DIRECTION

Who I want to win: “Hugo”, Dante Ferretti, Francesca Lo Schiavo – WHY? I like the time period of the 20’s that “Hugo” is set in…but so is “The Artist”.

Who’ll most likley win: “The Artist”, Laurence Bennett, Robert Gould

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

Who I want to win: “Hugo”, Sandy Powell – WHY? The 20’s style costumes are a lot more realistic in the look and tone than “The Artist”.

Who’ll most likley win: “Jane Eyre”, Michael O’Conner

BEST ACTRESS

Who I want to win: Rooney Mara,“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”WHY? Did you see David Fincher’s rendition of “Dragon Tattoo”??? OMG! If it weren’t for his direction a Rooney’s performances the movie would’ve been a bust. She actually got all of those real piercings! That’s commitment!

Who’ll most likley win: Meryl Streep, “The Iron Lady”

BEST ACTOR

Who I want to win: George Clooney, “The Descendants” OR Jean Dujardin, “The Artist”WHY? I loved both of these guys performances, each was just as unique as the other. So, whichever of these two win I’ll be happys as a clam.

Who’ll most likley win: George Clooney, “The Descendants”

BEST DIRECTOR 

Who I want to win: Martin Scorsese, “Hugo” WHY? Scorsese directed a brilliant movie that pays tribute about movies…so did Michel Hazanavicius.

Who’ll most likley win: Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”

BEST PICTURE

Who I want to win: “Hugo” – WHY? The Academy seems to love movies about movies, a movie telling a respectful story about the movies just really tugs on the heartstrings…so did “The Artist”.

Who’ll most likley win: “The Artist”

Let’s find out how right I was come Oscar Sunday, Feb. 26th, 8pm est/5pm wst

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 11:39 pm

    Cool website

Leave a Reply

