Skip to content

“Haywire” – Review (POSITIVE)

January 29, 2012

As a fan of Steven Soderbergh films, this was a can’t miss for me. Sadly I was a little late seeing it, since I was in Park City for Sundance the weekend it was released. But, I finally saw “Haywire” and to my surprise…ok, not much of a surprise, I loved it! The classic feel of a 70’s spy caper brought into the modern age of Jason Bourne-ism was just what I needed. Lead, by a badass newcomer (Gina Carano), and a well-rounded group of supporting players, “Haywire” hits most of the right bells and whistles.

A beautiful yet dangerous freelance covert operative Mallory Kane (Carano) is hired out by her handler to various global organizations to perform jobs, which governments can’t authorize and heads of state would rather not know about. After a mission to rescue a hostage in Barcelona, Mallory is quickly dispatched on another mission to Dublin. When the operation goes awry, Mallory finds herself being double-crossed; she needs to use all of her skills, tricks, and abilities to escape an international manhunt. Mallory must make it back to the United States; to protect her father (Bill Paxton), and exact revenge on those that have betrayed her, mainly her conniving boss (Ewan McGregor).

Let me begin with all the love I’d like to share. I love the style of this film; Soderbergh’s sleek, smooth, brisk movement with the camera, the glowing colorful looks of the film, and David Holmes jazzy-crime score. The characters aren’t completely interesting at times, but it’s Gina Carano who is. She’s a loose cannon waiting to explode and take you down with full force. I loved her! I want to see more of here! Michael Fassbender’s small role may have been under used, but what his character was going for there’s not much else you can do, still his presence on screen is excellent!

The cast as a whole was great, you see all these stars show up one by one and you find yourself asking, ‘Who’s showing up next?’ You’ve got Bill Paxton, Michael Douglas, Antonio Banderas, Channing Tatum (apparently Soderbergh’s new golden boy), Michael Fassbender, Ewan McGregor, and Michael Angarano

The story however is kind of bland. It’s fallen into the been there done that territory. And the motivation I felt was probably a tad lazy, the money it’s all about the money. I mean, I think screenwriter Lem Dobbs could’ve done it a little more creative than that. Dobbs is the fucking screenwriter for “The Limey” for crying out loud! Ok, I’m being a little too harsh, since I stated above that I loved the movie. I loved the movie because Soderbergh’ managed to take an uninteresting plot with some uninteresting side characters and make it a fun ride.

Heavy on style and heavy on stunts, “Haywire” is just the right amount of spy-action to start out the New Year. I think Soderbergh has a franchise on his hands, because the movie ends with a scream for a sequel, and I’d see it because Gina Carano would return at Mallory. LOVE GINA! At least see the movie for her.

GRADE: B

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

